loudvur.blogg.se

Universal installer
Universal installer






universal installer

(I have used dd many times with other bootable ISO files successfully, but for some mysterious reason it doesn't work for XenServer. I tried using dd with the XenServer ISO, and it doesn't boot. This seems to be a known issue, as the XenServer blog specifically recommends using Universal USB Installer. It looks like Wine is successfully detecting my USB drive (the /media/$USER/87F1-4491), why doesn't Universal USB Installer see my USB device?Īlso: I know that a bootable USB can simply be made using dd however, for some reason which is currently beyond my understanding, this doesn't seem to actually work in practice with the XenServer ISO. (The image has been edited to remove the user's name.) So I ran wincfg to see if I could manually assign the drive. The Windows Universal Installer can be used with either the standard wizard interface that provides step-by-step instructions or with command line options through the msiexec. I edited the image to remove the username, but as you can see, the USB drive is not shown. So everything appears to be fine, but when I load up Universal USB Installer with WINE, it doesn't detect my USB drive: I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes

universal installer universal installer

I want to use the Windows program Universal USB Installer via Wine (the end goal here is to create a XenServer bootable USB drive as described here, but that's not relevant to this question).Ĭurrently this is the status of my USB flash drive with fdisk: # fdisk -l /dev/sdbĭisk /dev/sdb: 16.0 GB, 16008609792 bytesĦ4 heads, 32 sectors/track, 15267 cylinders, total 31266816 sectors I have a 16 GB USB flash drive inserted into a machine running Linux Mint.








Universal installer